Western Invasives Network

Network Structure

Network Structure

Partnership Coordinator: Troy Abercrombie

The Coordinator is the sole staff person responsible for coordinating the activities of the Western Invasives Network, including, but not limited to:

-Building the organizational and technical capacity of CWMAs;
-Planning and setting up training workshops and field trips;
-Sharing technical and legislative information through the Willamette Weed and other list serves;
-Recruiting and coordinating partners;
-Researching grants and assisting in writing;
-Providing presentations at conferences and workshops to support the WIN and CWMAs.


Cooperative Weed Management Areas (CWMAs)

The WIN has assisted in the formation of eight formal local groups that coordinate membersí on-the-ground weed inventory, control, prevention, and education activities. Each Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) has a long-term management plan, a yearly operating plan, and a memorandum of understanding that demonstrates commitment to partnering organizations. Please click on the above CWMA link for more information about this group.


Steering Committee

Direction for  WIN is provided by representatives from the USFS, BLM, SWCDs, CPRC&D (WIN Fiscal Sponsor) and other natural resource agency folks.  The current committee is listed below:

Claire Hibler: BLM; chibler@blm.gov; 503-375-5677
Christina Mead: USFS; christinaamead@fs.fed.us; 541-467-5132
Jenny Meisel: Marion SWCD; Jenny.Meisel@marionswcd.net; 503-391-9927
Dominic Maze: City of Portland; dominic.maze@portlandoregon.gov; 503-823-4899
Kirk Shimeall: Cascade Pacific RC&D; Kirk@cascadepacific.org; 541-248-3094
Lucas Nipp: East Multnomah SWCD; lucas@emswcd.org; 503-935-5363 or cell 503-539-5764
Matt Mellethin: Integrated Resource Management; matt@irmforestry.com; 541-929-3408
Beth Myers-Shenai: Oregon Department of Agriculture; smyers@oda.state.or.us; 503-986-4777

Staff:

Troy Abercrombie, Coordinator WIN, weeds@cascadepacific.org, 541 910-8769


Working Groups

Several informal ad hoc working groups have been formed (through WIN) to focus on specific invasive plant management issues. Currently there are five working groups: reed canary grass, knotweed, false brome, meadow knapweed and garlic mustard. Others may be formed as needed. The groups generally meet quarterly at the Salem BLM offices. Please contact Troy Abercrombie at weeds@cascadepacific.org or 541 910-8769 for information on any upcoming meetings.

Share