Western Invasives Network

Network Structure

Network Structure

Partnership Coordinator - Vern Holm

The Partnership Coordinator is the sole staff person and is responsible for coordinating the activities of the Western Invasives Network, including, but not limited to:

  • building the organizational and technical capacity of CWMAs;
  • planning and setting up training workshops and field trips;
  • sharing technical and legislative information through the Willamette Weed and other list serves;
  • recruiting and coordinating partners;
  • researching grants and assisting in writing;
  • fiscal planning and management;
  • developing, updating, and sharing the WIN Directory;
  • providing assistance in project management;
  • participation in working groups; and
  • providing presentations at conferences and workshops to support the NWMP and CWMAs.

CWMAs

The WIN has assisted in the formation of eight formal local groups that coordinate membersí on-the-ground weed inventory, control, prevention, and education activities. Each Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) has a long-term management plan, a yearly operating plan, and a memorandum of understanding that demonstrates commitment to partnering organizations. Please click on the above CWMA link for more information about this group.

Steering Committee

Direction for the Northwest Weed Management Partnership and WIN is provided by representatives from the USFS, BLM, SWCD's. Oregon Invasives Species Council, CPRC&D (WIN Fiscal Sponsor) and other natural resource agency folks.  The current committee is listed below.

Claire Hibler: Botanist, BLM; claire_Hibler@blm.gov; 503-375-5677
Jenny Lippert: Botanist, USFS; jlippert@fs.fed.us; 541-225-6440
Tanya Beard: Marion County Public Works; tbeard@co.marion.or.us; 503-365-3149
Dominic Maze; City of Portland; dominic.maze@portlandoregon.gov; 503-823-4899
Kirk Shimeall; Cascade Pacific RC&D; kirk@cascadepacific.org; 541-248-3094
Lucas Nipp; East Multnomah SWCD; lucas@emswcd.org; 503-935-5363 or cell 503-539-5764
Wendi Agalzoff; Clatsop SWCD; cswcd@clatsopswcd.org; 503-325-4571
Michael Crabtree; Yamhill SWCD; michael.crabtree@or.nacdnet.net; (503) 472-6403
Matt Mellethin; Integrated Resource Management; matt@irmforestry.com; 541-929-3908

Working Groups

Several informal ad hoc working groups have been formed (through WIN) to focus on specific invasive plant management issues.  Currently there are five working groups: reed canary grass, knotweed, false brome, meadow knapweed and garlis mustard.  Others may be formed as needed.  The groups generally meet quarterly at the Salem BLM offices.  Please contact Vern Holm at weeds@cascadepacific.org or 971 241-2173 for information on any upcoming meetings, or check our Calendar.

Share