Western Invasives Network



Cooperative Weed Management Areas (CWMAs)

CWMA's are local partnerships representing a diverse group of individuals, organizations, and agencies who share a geographic area and thus have similar weed concerns and issues. WIN has assisted in the formation of eight formal local groups (see right)  that coordinate the partners on-the-ground weed inventory, control, prevention, and educational activities. CWMA partners educate landowners and the general public about controlling and preventing the spread of invasive weeds though tours, workshops, displays, and volunteer activities such as ivy pulls or fish and wildlife habitat restoration projects. The majority of the CWMA's have a long-term management plan, a yearly operating plan, and a memorandum of understanding that demonstrates commitment to partnering organizations.

The following are current CWMAs in operation:

1. Mid-Coast: Western Lane, Lincoln                                                      

Chair: Chris Cornwell
Noxious Weed Coordinator/Vegetation Program
Lincoln County Public Works/Roads
410 NE Harney St.
Newport, Oregon 97365
(541) 574-1248

Mid-Coast CWMA Map.pdf

Mid-Coast CWMA Profile2016-mid-coast-profile.pdf

Mid-Coast CWMA Management Plan

Mid-Coast CWMA MOU.doc

Mid-Coast CWMA Directory.xls

2. Upper Willamette: Eastern Lane, Linn                                                

Co-Chair: Wes Messinger
Willamette Valley Project Botanist
US Army Corps of Engineers
(541) 688-8147 x1013

Co-Chair: Glenn Miller
Noxious Weed Control Specialist Northwest Oregon
Oregon Department of Agriculture

Upper-Willamette CWMA Map.pdf

Upper-Willamette CWMA Profile

Upper-Willamette CWMA Management Plan

Upper-Willamette CWMA MOU.doc

3. Mid-Willamette: Marion, Polk, Yamhill                                              

Chair:  Jenny Meisel, Resource Conservationist
Marion Soil and Water Conservation District
338 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301
(503)391-9927 ext.312

Mid-Willamette CWMA Management Plan

Mid-Willamette CWMA MOU.doc

Mid-Willamette CWMA Directory.xls

Mid-Willamette CWMA April Meeting Notes

4. North Coast: Tillamook, Clatsop, Columbia                                       

Chair: Chip Bubl, Ag Livestock County Leader
OSU Extension, Columbia County
503-397-3462 x1

North Coast CWMA Map

North Coast CWMA Management Plan

North Coast CWMA MOU

North Coast CWMA Directory

North Coast CWMA Website

5. Four County: Clackamas, Clark, Multnomah, Washington               

Co-Chair:  Elaine Stewart, Senior Natural Resources Scientist
Metro - Natural Areas Program
600 NE Grand Ave
Portland OR 97232-2736
(503) 797-1515

Co-Chair:  Samuel Leininger, WeedWise Program Manager
Clackamas Soil & Water Conservation District
221 Molalla Ave. Suite 102
Oregon City, OR 97045
(503) 210-6006

Coordinator (1 day/week):  Sarah Hamilton
4 County Cooperative Weed Management Area


Four County CWMA Management Plan

Four County CWMA MOU

6. Columbia Gorge: Hood River, Wasco, Klickitat, and Skamania        

Co-Chair: Emily Stevenson, Program Coordinator

Skamania County Noxious Weed Control Program
PO Box 369
704 SW Rock Creek Drive
Stevenson, WA 98648


Co-Chair: Lucas Nipp
East Multnomah Soil and Water Conservation District
Direct Line: 503-935-5363
Cell: 503-539-5764.
Portland, OR 97217

Coordinator (one day per week): Sarah Hamilton
Columbia Gorge Cooperative Weed Management Area
(503) 210-6015

CG CWMA Maagnement Plan.doc

CG CWMA Operating Plan

CG CWMA Weed List


7. Lower Columbia: Cowlitz, Wahkiakum, Pacific                                  

Chair: Angelica Velazquez, Program Coordinator
Cowlitz County Weed Control District
207 4th Ave. N, Annex Building
Kelso, WA 98626

Lower Columbia CWMA Directory

Lower Columbia CWMA Website

8. Benton: Benton County                                                                             

Chair:  Melissa Newman, Program Coordinator
Communications, Youth Education & Invasives, Benton SWCD
456 SW Monroe Ave., Suite 110
Corvallis, Oregon 97333
(541) 753-7208

Benton County CWMA Management Plan.doc

Benton County CWMA MOU.doc

Benton County CWMA Directory.xlsx

9. Oregon Dunes                                                                             

Chair: Armand Rebischke, Restoration Botanist
Siuslaw National Forest
1130 Forestry Lane
Waldport, Oregon 97394

Oregon Dunes CWMA Management Plan

Oregon Dunes CWMA MOU

Oregon Dunes CWMA Map

Tillamook County PRISM (Partners for Regional Invasive Species Management)      

David Harris
Restoration Manager, Tillamook Estuaries Partnership
Box 493
613 Commercial
Garibaldi, Oregon 97118